Memebag Buy A New Audio Video Receiver

Discussion in 'Gadget Corner' started by memebag, Feb 3, 2017.

1. memebag

memebag Top Brass, ADVP

I've been using audio video receivers since the 1980s. Back then, VHS introduced stereo and Dolby Pro-Logic matrixed 4 channel sound. In the 1990s I bought a high end Onkyo THX AVR. I still use that to power the pool speakers, but it was all composite, component and S-Video. No HDMI. Eventually HDMI became mandatory.

Nine years ago I bought a much cheaper Onkyo AVR with 2 HDMI inputs. That was never enough. It was a decent device, but recently it started to do weird things to video. Like turn everything purple for a couple of hours, or just not output video at all. It turns out this is a fairly common problem with Onkyo AVRs, caused by bad capacitors on the HDMI board. Many of them failed within the first couple of years.

So I got the OK from Mrs. Bag to replace it. Sony and Denon are highly recommended right now. I looked at the latest Onkyo, but I think I'll take a break from Onkyo. Since I hate Sony with a deep and undying passion, I went with the Denon AVR-S920W. It does Dolby Atmos and DTS:X, but I doubt I will ever set those up. It has 8 HDMI inputs and is supposed to sound pretty good.

[​IMG]
  2. HecticArt

HecticArt Administrator

Look at you go with your bad self.
    I haven't run components in eons.
    It seems so daunting to start a system.
  3. memebag

memebag Top Brass, ADVP

How do you listen to stuff at home? Soundbar? TV speakers? Do you just hate your ears?
    HecticArt likes this.
  4. HecticArt

HecticArt Administrator

Soundbar w/ sub. It's decent for tv.
    B&O Beo Sound for cds, satellite, and mp3's. It's better than decent for the size of our house.

A full component system would be cool, but like I said, a daunting venture.
    I've been dumping my audio money into guitar toys lately.
    memebag likes this.
  5. memebag

memebag Top Brass, ADVP

My front speakers:

[​IMG]